//
you're reading...
Blog, personal story

A Decision

Following my “moment of clarity” in last Wednesday’s group, I’ve been doing a lot of serious thinking.

The one part of Christianity I’ve always had most difficulty with is the nature of the Trinity. God the Father and God the Son being one and the same, all one God – that I can understand and (following my moment of revelation last week) believe in. But I was still trying to understand the nature of the Holy Spirit. Where does It fit in? What exactly is It? After wednesday, it seemed to be even more important than ever that I come to understand what the Holy Spirit is and means.

Wikipedia, the online encyclopedia, has an excellent repository of articles on Christianity; and so it was the Wikipedia article on the Holy Spirit I turned to. And as I read I came to understand more about how the Holy Spirit is that aspect of God which dwells in the hearts of believers, opening us up to the Word of God and allowing us to Grow in His grace.

And as I read about the Gifts and filling of the Spirit, I had a sensation that my body had somehow become larger and was filling with what I could only describe as a sensation of Light and Awareness. It lasted for maybe a handful of minutes until my partner spoke to me, distracting me and bringing me “down to earth” again; but I could still remember the sensations I had just felt.

So I came to a decision, and today after the morning service I spoke with Simon, the priest, and told him I want to be baptised.

About arkadyrose

Genderqueer artist, singer, musician, writer, tailor, mead-mazer and doll crafter living in Walthamstow, NE London. Periodically develop obsessions with various topics; currently it's Paganini, previously Ancient Greece and Alexander the Great, but also fascinated by Ancient Egypt and Romano-British culture. Christo-Pagan.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “A Decision

  1. Dear Arkady,
    Here I am again, so interested in your spiritual progress and overjoyed at the revelation God is giving you about Himself in the Holy Spirit, the third Person of the Trinity. As it is a few weeks since you wrote the above, perhaps you already have a greater understanding than at the time of writing. You have already started to experience His presence, His wonderful and amazing grace to us. This is something to be desired, a very humbling experience when we consider what we are made of and how often we fall short of God’s perfection. Thank God for Jesus, who sent the Holy Spirit to be our Comforter and Counsellor in His place when He returned to heaven after His resurrection. I am pleased you have decided to be baptised. As you may recall, I suggested that you ask whether you could be baptised fully by immersion as in the early church. I hope that will be possible, even in an Anglican church. I feel it would be very important, to help remove any remaining traces of your past occult involvement. so you can truly live a new life in the spiritual sense. I look forward to reading the next instalment!
    Love and blessings,
    Helen

    Posted by Helen | Wednesday, January 2, 2008, 4:13 pm
  2. Hi Arkady,

    I didn’t know about this part of your life at all until I read elsewhere about your baptism. I commend you on following your path. I was a Christian on and off through my teen years, the most intense and spiritually satisfying part of that time was spent at a large pentecostal church. I went the whole nine yards there even seriously contemplating leaving school for Bible College.

    The pentecostals put a lot of emphasis on the work and gifts of the Holy Spirit. I’ve heard it said that it is the feminine part of the Trinity. What I got from my time at church was that the best way to start understanding the Holy Spirit was in experiencing His presence as part of a relationship. From your description it sounds like that has begun for you which is really wonderful. πŸ™‚

    I’m now doing a double major in Religion and Anthropology. I haven’t done any subjects devoted to any of “The Big Three” (monotheistic) religions but I got some wonderful Christian books and readings from some classes which I’d be happy to share with you if you are interested. I’m happy to chat about any of it with you too. πŸ™‚

    Annette

    Posted by Annette | Wednesday, February 13, 2008, 8:42 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A Dark Night « An Arkadian Path - Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Arkady Rose

Flickr Photos

Archive

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 10,774 hits

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 878 other followers

