//
you're reading...
Blog, personal story

First Communion

Following my baptism at Pentecost, I took my first Communion on Sunday 18th. I had been looking forward to this very much, but I was also rather nervous as I had never taken Communion before! I was sitting with Carol, the Bishop’s wife, and just before we both went up I suddenly realised I had no idea if there was anything I was supposed to say when receiving it! Carol reassured me that all I need say is a simple “Amen” when presented with the chalice or bread however.

I went over to the South Altar (which used to be called the Thorne Chapel), where the non-alcoholic wine was being served, and David Baker – one of my two sponsors at my baptism – was the cup-bearer. It meant a great deal to me that my first Communion was served to me by David; it was like being welcomed into the congregation fully all over again.

I took non-alcoholic wine, as I have an allergy to red wine. It appears to be the tannin content that I am sensitive to, as too much tea has a similar effect; however I also went to the BCW Communion service on Wednesday which usually is quite a small gathering, and I thought it unlikely that Simon would have prepared a second chalice of non-alcoholic wine so I took an antihistamine before I went. That, plus taking a tiny sip, thankfully meant that I didn’t have a reaction to the wine (although my lips did tingle briefly afterwards – I suspect that was due to the strength of the wine though). Hopefully this means I will be able to attend Communion services without having to worry about whether there is an alternative to the regular Communion wine.

About arkadyrose

Genderqueer artist, singer, musician, writer, tailor, mead-mazer and doll crafter living in Walthamstow, NE London. Periodically develop obsessions with various topics; currently it's Paganini, previously Ancient Greece and Alexander the Great, but also fascinated by Ancient Egypt and Romano-British culture. Christo-Pagan.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Arkady Rose

Flickr Photos

Archive

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 10,774 hits

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 878 other followers

