//
you're reading...
Blog, depression, personal story

On the outside looking in

At the weekly session at the Bakers’ on Thursday, everyone was discussing Sunday’s ordination service. People were describing it as wonderful, uplifting, stunning, awe-inspiring and discussing how they felt.

I felt as though I had missed out on something beautiful, even though I was physically present at exactly the same event as they were. It reminded me a little of how I felt before being baptised about watching other people take Communion, only more lonely. I had spent the whole service torn between feeling out of place, and preoccupied with Freda (who now thinks we go to church just so she can go play with the toys in the South Porch).

The group also discussed how they felt that despite the fact there were far more people than usually attend a Sunday service, St.Mary’s didn’t feel crowded – and yet, I had felt hemmed in by the press of too many people. Further sign that I am not mentally in the right place for this.

I have decided that for the time being, I will carry on with the midweek group at the Bakers’ on Thursdays, but not the morning services on a Sunday. Freda is getting better at being left with her father for periods of time, so I may try coming alone to some of the evening services instead; they tend to be quieter, with fewer people, and perhaps without the distraction of a small active toddler I will be better able to get into the right frame of mind to be receptive.

The one part that brings real comfort still is the music. I’ve always found my moods very receptive to music, and singing has always made me feel closer to the Divine; I can lose myself in the song, and feel myself uplifted.

About arkadyrose

Genderqueer artist, singer, musician, writer, tailor, mead-mazer and doll crafter living in Walthamstow, NE London. Periodically develop obsessions with various topics; currently it's Paganini, previously Ancient Greece and Alexander the Great, but also fascinated by Ancient Egypt and Romano-British culture. Christo-Pagan.

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Arkady Rose

Flickr Photos

David has been writing a book about Bitcoin and asked me to come up with something for cover art. The brief was "frightened businessman, 50s pulp style". It's not a style I've ever tried before, I must say. This is my first effort; it's not quite right, s

Colour-corrected version of my selfie.

Experimental art card foiled in red and gold.

More Photos

Archive

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 10,707 hits

Pages

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 878 other followers

